354 timing

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Roger
      Participant

I am back again with more questions concerning the timing of my jinma 354 with the TY 395 non epa engine. First let me start by saying that I am not a mechanic, I am learning as I go. I just had the engine rebuilt and we are trying to time the motor and/or the injection pump. When the gears were put on the front of the motor they were lined up by the marks on the gears and appear to be right. I understand that the engine is to be timed at 18 to 20 degrees btdc. My first question is how do you know what the degrees are since there is no numbers to go by?. 2. When the engine is at tdc on the compression stroke does that mean the engine is at 0 degrees? 3. Is each tooth on the gears equal to one degree? 4. There is a picture in an earlier post that shows the gears on the front of the motor and the gear on the injection pump has slots in it.I assume that is to time the pump? The gear on my injection pump does not have the slots in it , but my pump has slots on it so I assume that is in place of the slots on the gear or do I have the wrong gear on my pump. I understand that there is a procedure that is refered to as spill timing but its kinda of confusing to me. Any assistance that anybody wants to provide would be greatly appreciated.

Affordable
        Participant

When you start out by saying you are not a mechanic, and you are rebuilding a engine you are not going to get alot of help here.Rebuilding a engine is not for a amature ? You must line up the crankshaft, cam, fuel injection pump,ect.If you are off on any one of these you will cause damage,

Do you have the parts books, operation manuals ? It will tell you where the timing marks are, there also on the flywheel.A mark on the balancer is 2 degrees, NOT TEETH.

I would not offer any advise on a engine rebuild without seeing it myself,and I think others feel the same way.To much can happen to cause damage

Tommy